top of page

National Commission for Women’s celebration of Foundation Day withKathak Kendra, New Delhi

On the occasion of the Foundation Day of the National Commission for Women, on 31st January 2024, Kathak Kendra, New Delhi performed in the Delhi’s recent grand cultural hub, Bharat Mandapam, Pragati Maidan. A massive Kathak production “Nav Durga” was staged, under the direction of, and music composed by Kathak exponent Guru Jai Kishan Maharaj and assisted by Tribhuwan Maharaj in music.

Having the sole reason of the celebration of this big day as the women, “Nav Durga” stood out

completely blending with the theme, rejoicing in the strength, power, and contribution of women through the beautiful depiction of the nine facets of Durga, namely, Shailaputri, Brahmacharini, Chadraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandamata, Katyayani, Kaalratri, Mahagauri, and Siddhidaatri. It was a team of 40 dancers, inclusive of Kathak Kendra’s repertory artists, Kathak Kendra students, Pt. Jai Kishan Maharaj ji’s artists and Chhau artists, together had put up this production depicting every episode, of every Devi and her victories of restoration of peace and sanctity, in the most celebrated and poignant manner. The stage was embossed upon with suave and synchronized movements, vibrant colours, and with magnificent light and background work, taking one to the pious era of the Gods and Heavens. The event was graced with the presence of the honorable Home Minister, Govt. Of India, Shri Amit Shah. Smt. Smriti Irani was also one of the dignitaries present at the event.

The artists who staged this beautiful production are- Mohit Shridhar, Neeraj Parihar, Rohit Pawar, Sunny Sisodiya, Sonam Chauhan, Minu Garu, Ridhima Bagga, Varsha Dasgupta, Aditi Bhardwaj, Krupa Tendulkar, Sujata Gawde, Priyanka Kapil, Krishna Dutt, Abhay Maharaj, Nishant Tiwari, Pooja, Taarushi, Moorti, Sonali, Pooja Shah, Kashish Bhatt, Lakshman, Diya Vyas, Divya, Aman Pandey, Madhura, Vaidehi, Badal, Shreshtha, Anshika Pandey, Dipanshi Maharaj, Parishi Sharma, Arun Khinchi, Neeraj Malik, Abhishek Pathak, Lakshman Singh Negi, Tarang, Shailaa, Aastha Sijariya and Deepannita Sarkar.

6 views0 comments


Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page